22 October, 2021 – The GPM has appointed Grace Mary Mugasa, Uganda’s Minister of State for Public Services, as Honorary Member of the GPM. The Honorary Membership is awarded to mayors that have shown consistent and outstanding support to the GPM and distinguish themselves by meritorious service to the furtherance of the GPM through significant and ongoing participation in the Association’s activities and responsibilities.

Grace Mary Mugasa, former mayor of Hoima, was one of the founding members of the GPM in 2016, member of the Executive Committee since 2017 and 2nd Vice Chair of the Daily Board from 2019.

Since 2017, the GPM has awarded the honorary membership to the  former Mayors van Aartsen (The Hague, the Netherlands), de Lille (Cape Town, South Africa) Johnson (Asbury Park, USA) and Termont (Ghent, Belgium).